June 5, 2012

  • Another BIG Earthquake

    This week has been attended by several moderate to heavy earthquakes…. mostly within the 5.0 – 5.3 range.  We felt them, they rattle the house, shake our spirits a bit and cause us to remember that ultimately God is in control of all things.   The ones that reach 5.0 or greater always get our attention.

    Today we had a 5.9.  This one was felt as well.  The chief difference here was proximity.  While most 5.0 Earthquakes are along the Yilan / Haulien county borders (East Coast of Taiwan and merely 150-175 miles away, roughly)  This one was off the southern tip of Taiwan…. 500 Miles away!!!!  And I felt it like it was one of those others that surprise us regularly.

    Here’s what I am talking about.  This earthquake was from yesterday (my birthday had a 5.1 celebration!!!).

    You’ll notice what I am talking about…  I live in the upper right corner of Taiwan.  The epicenter was along the cost of Hualien some 150 miles away in a straight line fashion.

    This is from just now.

    As you can see…. nearly 350 miles (in a direct straight line.  I add that so my wife doesn’t try to correct my math) distant… and still felt strongly.  Wow.  That was a big one.

    The real question is though…. is there a bigger one yet on the horizon?  Taiwan hasn’t had a major Earthquake event since September of 1999.  Maybe it’s time we start praying for Taiwan’s safety and place / standing before God.

    Amen?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *